San Francisco Hotel Day Passes: Pool at $20, Sauna at $62, Day Room at $89

| Venue | Price | Verdict | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hilton San Francisco Union Square | $20 adult / $10 child (weekday), $25 adult / $15 child (weekend) | Worth It | Pool access in the heart of Union Square at the lowest in-city price |
| SoMa House | $89 weekday / $99 weekend | Depends | Remote workers or couples wanting a rooftop pool room without overnight commitment |
| Alchemy Springs & Sauna Garden | $62 adult / $50 child | Worth It | Wellness-focused visitors who want a sauna, cold plunge, and fire pit session |
| The Lodge at Tiburon | $25 adult / $10 child | Worth It Once | Families willing to cross the bay for a bayside pool with free parking |
| Casa Madrona Hotel & Spa | $250 weekday / $350 weekend | Worth It Once | Couples prioritizing Sausalito bay views and spa services over pool access |
| Sonesta Emeryville | $109 | Depends | Travelers using Oakland or Berkeley as a base who want a private room and indoor pool |
San Francisco hotel day passes earn a depends verdict. The Hilton Union Square Hotel Pass at $20-$25 per adult is genuinely good value for a 16th-floor heated pool in the middle of the city. The wellness pass at Alchemy Springs earns a worth-it verdict for anyone who wants a sauna-and-cold-plunge session over a pool. The day room options at SoMa House and Sonesta Emeryville make sense for post-checkout gaps or remote-work layovers, not as a splurge. Skip the nearby venues if staying in San Francisco matters more to you than the pass itself.
San Francisco does not have a beachfront resort pool culture. What it has is a compact set of hotel passes. They range from a $20 rooftop swim at a downtown Hilton to a $62 communal sauna-and-cold-plunge at a wellness club built around the European bathhouse model. The right pass depends almost entirely on what you want to do with the day.
This guide covers every property ResortPass lists as a day pass in the San Francisco city results that has a verified price from the ResortPass booking backend (queried September 2026). Three of the six venues are not in San Francisco proper. Those are described as nearby options, not city venues.
Quick match by use case:
- Cheapest in-city pool: Hilton San Francisco Union Square, from $20 adult weekday
- Rooftop pool with a private room: SoMa House, from $89
- Sauna, cold plunge, fire pit: Alchemy Springs, $62 adult flat
- Bayside pool with free parking: The Lodge at Tiburon (Marin County), from $25 adult
- Sausalito spa day room: Casa Madrona (Sausalito), from $250
- East Bay indoor pool day room: Sonesta Emeryville, $109
Hilton San Francisco Union Square: the cheapest pool in the city
The Hilton San Francisco Union Square sells a Hotel Pass starting at $20 per adult on weekdays and $25 on weekends. Children are $10 weekdays and $15 weekends (ResortPass pre-fee base prices, verified September 2026). The pass covers the 16th-floor heated outdoor pool, hot tub, and fitness center. Towels are provided. The 46th-floor sky bar is a separate purchase.
The pool sits on the roof of Tower 3 and is open year-round (Hilton website, verified September 2026). For a family of two adults and two children on a weekday, the base cost before the 12% ResortPass checkout fee is $60. On a weekend, that rises to $80. Neither figure includes parking. SFMTA’s Union Square-area garages, Union Square Garage and Ellis-O’Farrell Garage, run a $46 daily maximum, and the Fifth and Mission/Yerba Buena Garage runs $44 (SFMTA rates, checked September 2, 2026). If you are driving, add that to your real cost.
The Hilton also offers a Day Room product listed at $109 per adult. That option was unavailable on every date sampled in September 2026. Book the Hotel Pass for pool access instead.
Hilton SF Union Square: Hotel Pass True Cost
What the Hilton pass includes and excludes
| Amenity | Status | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| 16th-floor heated outdoor pool | Tower 3 deck, open year-round | |
| Hot tub | On the same 16th-floor deck | |
| Fitness center | Tower 1 lobby; free weights, cardio machines | |
| Towels | Provided at pool deck | |
| 46th-floor sky bar | Menu pricing | Not included in the Hotel Pass |
| Cabana or reserved seating | Hilton's own site describes a spacious deck with plenty of seating; it does not state a reservation policy (hilton.com, verified September 2026) | |
| Food and drinks | Menu pricing | No outside food or BYOB |
| Parking | $44-$46 | Not included; SFMTA Union Square-area garages, checked September 2026; use BART Powell Street station instead |
| Wi-Fi | $18.95 | Lobby Wi-Fi is free; room-speed Wi-Fi is paid for non-guests |
Check-in reality at the Hilton
Arrive at the main front desk with your ResortPass confirmation and a photo ID. The hotel pre-logs day pass visitors. You will receive a wristband or key card directing you to the pool level. Expect a brief queue during weekend afternoons. Hilton’s own site describes the pool deck as spacious with plenty of seating; it does not state whether loungers can be reserved (hilton.com, verified September 2026).
SoMa House: a day room with rooftop pool access
SoMa House sells a Day Room through ResortPass at $89 on weekdays and $99 on weekends (ResortPass pre-fee base prices, verified September 2026). This is a room-based product. You get a private hotel room for the day, access to the heated rooftop pool with skyline views, and use of the courtyard. It is not a pool pass. It is a room you can retreat to and freshen up in, with pool access attached.
SoMa House is in the South of Market district, walkable from the Moscone Center and Yerba Buena Gardens (TripAdvisor, verified September 2026). The rooftop pool is heated. Parking is available on-site via valet, which is unusual for San Francisco. SoMa House’s own site lists valet parking at $65 Sunday through Thursday and $55 Friday and Saturday, plus tax, for standard-sized vehicles (somahousesf.com, verified September 2026).
At $89-$99 for a day room, SoMa House suits a post-checkout gap day or a remote work session with a pool break. Couples wanting a quiet midday retreat without overnight pricing will find the math reasonable here.
SoMa House: Day Room True Cost
Alchemy Springs & Sauna Garden: San Francisco’s communal wellness pass
Alchemy Springs & Sauna Garden sells a Sauna Garden Pass at $62 per adult and $50 per child. The price held flat across every date sampled in September 2026 (ResortPass pre-fee base prices, verified September 2026). The pass covers the communal outdoor sauna, cold plunges, fire pit, and thermal benches. This is a spa wellness venue, not a hotel pool. ResortPass lists it as a spa-category product on the San Francisco city page.
The Sauna Garden is in Lower Nob Hill. The full Alchemy Springs bathhouse was in renovation during late 2025, with additional facilities planned. The current Sauna Garden product is the outdoor thermal circuit only (Alchemy Springs via ResortPass, verified September 2026).
At $62, this is the most distinctive pass in the city set. It targets wellness-focused adults who want the European bathhouse experience, not a hotel pool. Children are admitted, but the environment is quiet and meditative rather than family-activity focused.
| Amenity | Status | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Communal outdoor sauna (40-person) | Largest known outdoor sauna in the US per Alchemy Springs | |
| Cold plunge tubs | Part of the thermal circuit | |
| Fire pit | Communal gathering space | |
| Thermal benches | Rest stations between hot and cold cycles | |
| Rain showers | Transitional showers between sauna and plunge | |
| Food and drinks | No restaurant or food menu on-site; tea and spa water service noted (alchemysprings.com, verified September 2026) | |
| Towels | Bring your own towel, swimsuit, and sandals; rental is not offered (alchemysprings.com, verified September 2026) | |
| Parking | Varies | Lower Nob Hill street and garage parking; rate not independently verified for this block. Use public transit or rideshare |
The Lodge at Tiburon: nearby bayside pool in Marin County
The Lodge at Tiburon is in Tiburon, Marin County, roughly 25 minutes by car or 30 minutes by ferry from the Ferry Building in San Francisco. ResortPass lists it on the San Francisco city page because it serves Bay Area day-trippers, but it is not a San Francisco venue. Describe it as a nearby option.
The day pass costs $25 per adult and $10 per child (ResortPass pre-fee base prices, verified September 2026). The pass covers the outdoor L-shaped pool, hot tub, first-come-first-served lounger, towel service, complimentary Wi-Fi, and complimentary parking (7x7 Bay Area, verified September 2026). Parking included is a meaningful advantage over every in-city option.
Weekend availability is limited. The pass was unavailable on September 5 (Saturday) and September 7 (Monday) in the sample. It was available on September 13, 15, 20, and 23. Book as far ahead as possible for summer and fall weekends.
Lodge at Tiburon: Day Pass True Cost
Casa Madrona Hotel & Spa: Sausalito day room, no pool pass
Casa Madrona Hotel & Spa is in Sausalito, roughly 30 minutes from San Francisco by ferry or 20 minutes by car across the Golden Gate Bridge. It is not in San Francisco. It sells a Day Room through ResortPass at $250 on weekdays and $350 on weekends (ResortPass pre-fee base prices, verified September 2026). There is no standalone pool day pass.
The spa offers separate massage treatments at $200-$230 per person, but those were unavailable on every sampled date. The Day Room gives you a private hotel room with harbor views, use of the hotel grounds, and access to the Sausalito waterfront. It sits at the top of this comparison’s price range. It suits couples who want a slow day in Sausalito. It does not suit families or anyone whose main goal is pool access.
- Sausalito harbor getaway · Day Room includes private room, bay views, and access to the hotel's grounds
- Anniversary or couples retreat · High-end property; harbor setting; quiet midday option without overnight pricing
- Pre- or post-Golden Gate visit · Convenient staging point for a Marin County day
- You mainly want pool access · No standalone pool day pass; Day Room only
- Families with children · At $250-$350 for a Day Room, the math does not work for a family that just wants to swim
- Weekend spa treatments · Massage appointments were unavailable on every sampled September weekend date
Sonesta Emeryville: East Bay indoor pool day room
Sonesta Emeryville is in Emeryville, across the Bay Bridge from San Francisco, roughly 20 minutes by car from the city. It sells a Day Room at $109 per adult (ResortPass pre-fee base price, verified September 2026). The room includes fitness center access and Bay Bridge views. The hotel has an indoor pool (Sonesta website, verified September 2026). The ResortPass listing describes the Day Room primarily as a space to “nap, freshen up, or work” with fitness center access.
Availability on September weekends was mixed. The September 5 Saturday slot was unavailable. September 20 Sunday and September 23 Wednesday were available. If a Bay Bridge-view day room with an indoor pool sounds right and you are already spending time in the East Bay, this is a reasonable option. If you are based in San Francisco, the logistics of crossing the bridge for a $109 day room need to pencil out against alternatives.
How to book and what to expect at check-in
All six venues in this comparison book through ResortPass. The process is consistent. Select your date and pass type at resortpass.com. Complete checkout, where the platform added a 12% fee on every booking we checked in September 2026, on top of the base price shown in this article. Receive a confirmation by email. Bring that confirmation and a photo ID to the hotel front desk. The property is pre-notified.
The platform fee is refundable when you cancel within the cancellation window listed in your confirmation email (ResortPass support page, verified September 2026). If a hotel turns you away with a valid booking, contact ResortPass support directly. The booking is between you and ResortPass; the hotel is notified through the platform.
| Platform | Price | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| ResortPass | Base price + 12% fee at checkout | 12% on every booking we checked in September 2026; the only verified booking channel for all six venues in this comparison |
| Direct (hotel website) | No verified day pass sold direct | None of these properties advertise a standalone day pass on their own site at time of verification |
| DayPass.com | No verified listing | Not confirmed as listing these San Francisco venues at time of verification |
The real cost for a family of four
Add the Hilton Union Square Hotel Pass for two adults and two children on Saturday, September 5, 2026, the confirmed weekend rate. The base comes to $25 + $25 + $15 + $15 = $80. Add the 12% ResortPass fee ($9.60). Then add a day at Union Square Garage, the nearest SFMTA garage to the hotel, at its $46 daily maximum (SFMTA rate, checked September 2, 2026). That is $135.60 for four people before food and drinks, which run at hotel-rate menu pricing on top.
The Lodge at Tiburon works for the same four people too, though book a date other than Saturday since that date was unavailable in our sample. The base comes to $25 + $25 + $10 + $10 = $70. Add the 12% ResortPass fee ($8.40); parking is free. That is $78.40 before transport. Golden Gate Ferry runs one-way fares of $14 by paper ticket or $8.50 with a Clipper card, effective April 13, 2026 and checked September 2, 2026. Round trip for two adults from the SF Ferry Building comes to $56 with paper tickets or $34 with Clipper, bringing the ferry-based total to $134.40 or $112.40. Driving is free and cuts that further. Food at the Tiburon Tavern adds what you order.
Neither option comes close to the cost of a hotel room in San Francisco. Hilton San Francisco Union Square itself quoted $433 a night before taxes and fees, checked on hilton.com on September 2, 2026. That was for a Wednesday, September 23 to Thursday, September 24, 2026 stay. The day pass is not trying to be the same experience. It is the pool for the afternoon, not the overnight stay.
For the room-vs-pass math in detail, see resort day pass vs booking the room.
If you want a pool and you are flexible on location, the Bay Area has free alternatives worth considering. Dolores Park and Crissy Field both get full afternoon sun and cost nothing. Neither has a pool, but San Francisco’s weather means a pool day and a park day are often the same temperature. If you specifically want a heated pool on a weekend, the Hilton’s $25 adult pass is the lowest verified price in the city. If you want the sauna and cold-plunge experience instead, Onsen SF in the Tenderloin offers a comparable thermal circuit. Admission runs $50 per person for two hours, including robe, towel, and sandals (onsensf.com, verified September 2026), and books through Tock rather than ResortPass.
Best for each scenario
- Cheapest in-city pool · Hilton Union Square Hotel Pass, $20-$25 adult. Takes BART to Powell Street; no parking needed.
- Post-checkout gap day · SoMa House Day Room at $89-$99 gives you a private room, a rooftop pool, and a place to store luggage while you hold off the airport run.
- Wellness and thermal circuit · Alchemy Springs Sauna Garden Pass at $62 is the only dedicated sauna and cold-plunge pass in the city set.
- Family with free parking · The Lodge at Tiburon at $25 adult / $10 child includes free parking. Cross the bay for better value per dollar than any in-city option.
- Couples wanting Marin or Sausalito · Casa Madrona in Sausalito or The Lodge at Tiburon offer a quieter, more scenic alternative to the downtown hotel pool scene.
- You need guaranteed weekend availability · The Lodge at Tiburon fills up on Saturdays. Book at least one to two weeks ahead or have a backup.
- Families on a tight budget · Once you add Union Square garage parking and the 12% platform fee, a family of four at the Hilton runs about $136, before food. A picnic at Crissy Field costs nothing.
- You want a resort-style pool with slides or a lazy river · None of these properties have waterpark features. The nearest waterpark-style day pass options are outside the Bay Area.
Where to stay near San Francisco if a day pass becomes a full trip
How we verify prices
Every base price in this article came from the ResortPass booking backend, queried on 2026-09-02 for multiple September dates. We describe these as pre-fee figures because ResortPass added a 12% fee at checkout on every booking we checked in September 2026, not reflected in the numbers above. For how we approach verification across the site, see how we verify.
For a broader look at how hotel day passes work before you book, see our hotel day pass explainer and the full resort day pass inclusions guide.
Comparing San Francisco to other West Coast cities? The Los Angeles pool day passes guide and the San Diego resort day passes guide cover comparable property sets with the same price structure.
Frequently Asked Questions
What does a San Francisco hotel day pass include?
It depends on the property and the pass tier. The Hilton Union Square Hotel Pass covers the 16th-floor heated outdoor pool, hot tub, and fitness center. SoMa House's Day Room gives you a private room plus rooftop pool access. Alchemy Springs covers the communal sauna garden, cold plunges, fire pit, and thermal benches. None of the passes in this comparison include food, drinks, parking, or cabanas unless stated otherwise.
What is the cheapest hotel pool day pass in San Francisco?
The Hilton San Francisco Union Square Hotel Pass is the lowest verified in-city price. It runs $20 per adult on weekdays and $25 on weekends (ResortPass pre-fee base prices, verified September 2026). Children are $10 on weekdays and $15 on weekends. ResortPass added a 12% platform fee at checkout on every booking we checked in September 2026, on top of those figures.
Is a hotel day pass worth it in San Francisco compared to booking a room?
For a pool-only visit, the Hilton's $20-$25 pass is far cheaper than an overnight room. For a day room at SoMa House ($89-$99) or Sonesta Emeryville ($109), the math is closer. If overnight rates at your chosen hotel dip to $150-$180 and you need a place to sleep, booking a room can come out ahead. Run the numbers for your specific dates before deciding.
Are San Francisco hotel day passes available on weekends?
Most are, but availability varies. The Hilton Union Square Hotel Pass was available on every weekend date sampled. The Lodge at Tiburon was unavailable on two of the sampled September weekend dates, so book as early as possible if you want a Saturday or Sunday there. Alchemy Springs was available on every sampled date including weekends.
Can I bring food or drinks to a hotel pool day pass in San Francisco?
Outside food and drink policies are set by each property, not by ResortPass. Most hotel pools do not allow outside food or BYOB coolers. On-site food and drink options are available but priced at hotel rates, typically $15-$25 per cocktail at a downtown hotel. Factor that into your all-in cost estimate before you book.
Is The Lodge at Tiburon considered a San Francisco day pass?
ResortPass lists it on the San Francisco city page, but it is in Tiburon, Marin County, a 30-minute ferry ride or 25-minute drive across the bay. It is a genuine Bay Area option with free parking, but it is not in San Francisco. If driving from the city, budget extra time for bridge traffic.
How do I check in with a ResortPass booking at a San Francisco hotel?
Go to the front desk with your booking confirmation and a photo ID. The hotel is pre-notified of your visit. ResortPass charges a refundable 12% platform fee at checkout, separate from the base pass price, on every booking we checked in September 2026. The hotel itself does not charge an additional entry fee on arrival if you have a confirmed booking.
This article was researched and written with AI assistance. All prices, inclusions, and operational details have been independently verified against resort websites, booking platforms, and visitor reviews. Last verified: September 2026.